If you drive a vehicle in Florida, auto insurance is a must-have. According to the Florida Department of Highway and Safety Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), there are more than 17 million licensed drivers in the Sunshine State and 21,286,599 vehicles on the road. Having auto insurance is important to keep you safe while on the road. In addition to the state-mandated personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability coverage, you should consider collision and comprehensive coverage to ensure you and your vehicle are protected.
>>MORE: How to switch car insurance
Minimum car insurance requirements in Florida
In Florida, state law requires drivers to carry auto insurance. The minimum insurance requirements for Florida drivers are:
$10,000 property damage liability
$10,000 personal injury protection (PIP)
When shopping for auto insurance, be sure to consider all of your coverage needs. While the law doesn’t require you to have additional coverage such as collision or comprehensive, this type of coverage can protect you from a large financial loss.
Collision insurance ensures you are covered if your vehicle needs replacing or repairs if it’s been involved in a collision accident. Comprehensive insurance provides coverage for car theft, fire or hail damage (weather-related), or other types of losses.
Bodily injury liability insurance is only required for Florida drivers who have been convicted of a DUI. Otherwise, it is optional. Though it’s highly recommended drivers purchase it. This type of insurance pays the medical expenses for anyone injured in an accident that you cause. The minimum suggested amount of bodily injury liability insurance is:
$10,000 bodily injury per person, per accident
$20,000 bodily injury for all persons, per accident
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is also important. Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage protects the insured driver and any passengers involved in an accident with another party that has no liability insurance. Meanwhile, underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage protects you and your passengers if you’re involved in an accident with another party that has inadequate coverage. UIM also covers you in the event of a hit-and-run driver.
There were over 400,000 car crashes recorded last year and 42,914 vehicles stolen. Having full coverage auto insurance means you’re covered in the event of an accident, theft or weather-related incident like a hurricane. The best insurance ensures you pay the least out-of-pocket for car expenses as well.
The Florida No-Fault Law
Florida is a no-fault state, which means all drivers are required by law to have personal injury protection coverage. The Florida No-Fault Law currently requires PIP to help pay for expenses resulting from an accident up to the limits on your policy, whether or not you are at-fault for the crash.
Is there a penalty for driving without auto insurance?
In Florida, you are required to maintain continuous insurance coverage. If you get pulled over and don’t have proof of insurance, you can be fined. Not having auto insurance also means your driver’s license and license plate/registration can be suspended for up to three years. In addition, you may have to pay a reinstatement fee of up to $500.
Car insurance quotes in Florida
Getting multiple auto insurance quotes is key to ensuring you have the best coverage at the lowest price - from the insurance provider you prefer. Whether you are getting insurance for the first time or have been with your provider for years, comparing quotes can save you money.
The 10 largest insurance providers in Florida are: